Book Review: Ang Paboritong Libro ni Hudas

Ang Paboritong Libro ni Hudas Bob Ong

More like a rant than a review.

First-hand (i.e. Wikipedia) Info:

  • English title: The Favorite Book of Judas (a.k.a. The Black Book)
  • Author: Bob Ong (Philippines)
  • Year Published: 2003
  • Language: Tagalog/Filipino

I didn’t expect I’d dislike a Bob Ong book this much, because the ones I’ve read before were quite enjoyable. But this? This isn’t. To be honest, I’ve only read until the first quarter of this work, and I couldn’t bring myself to read further. In other words, I couldn’t stomach it. It’s like I was being forced to eat a badly cooked meal that I didn’t even know was, well, quite bad until I got the first taste of it.

Twenty-five percent in, and I can say so far (well, whatever the twist there would be, I’m no longer interested to see that) that all this book has is its attempt to make people laugh. But the thing is, it fails 99% of the time. The first few chuckles I had in the opening part were the height of my reaction while reading this book. The first few pages are representative of what the rest of it looks like. A ton of jokes here and there with the same formula, albeit of different writing styles (this author sure is adventurous), and the humor will eventually get thinner. It sometimes tries to say wise things, but easily throws these things away as jokes. Everything turns into a joke, so this book itself is a big joke. Before you know it, you’re really having a hard time staying awake just to read this book.

And so, I just gave up because it was not that stimulating. And what is a book if what it does is make you sleep, even if its original intention is really just to entertain? This book is just not right up my alley. At least it gets a star out of five, if that’s something.


My Goodreads review and personal rating: ⭐ (out of 5) (= did not like it)

*So yeah, it turns out the second part of the book is autobiographical. Not that it would change my impression because it’s already too boring at the moment to get back to. That saves me the trouble of going through the same pain for the second time. On the brighter side, this is a good chance to check out his later works and see if he’d retained his old style or something.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Ang Paboritong Libro ni Hudas

    1. Hello and thanks for dropping by my personal blog!

      So far I’ve only read MacArthur, Ang Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan, and Ang Alamat ng Gubat. All of which I read way back from 2011 to early 2012. And I never read them again. Maybe re-reading them wouldn’t be a good decision for there’s a chance I might find the language cringe-worthy, or perhaps not at all. I’d still say that MacArthur was a thoroughly gripping read, though. The other two were enjoyable for what they’re worth, but didn’t quite leave the same personal impact as the former did. I haven’t read anything from Bob Ong until just around this time when I tried sit ting down with this black book, only to never actually finish it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

