Spreading the love for OPM

Last Sunday, I watched the first half of Channel 9’s Rockumentary episode, which featured Filipino rock bands which emerged as champions in the previous Muziklaban competitions, which were held annually (I don’t know why they haven’t done it for two years now). The three bands interviewed for that portion were Manila Under Fire, A Music Theory, and Mayonnaise. Out of the three, however, I am only familiar with Mayo’s music.

I really liked the episode. Since I myself ‘tried’ to enter the music scene, I could relate to some of the hardships bands commonly face–financial crises, insufficient skills, poor overall band music dynamics, etc.  It’s not easy to form a band. But after forming one, that’s when things are definitely gonna get more difficult. There’s also this band chemistry, which I think is true, as Armi Millare of Up Dharma Down (my top favorite OPM band at the moment) states in her tweet.

After the fulfilling episode, I decided to check out these bands on YouTube. It’d been a long while since I’ve actively tried to get to know more OPM bands. I went to see Mayo’s music first. “Paraan” was the song whose music video was mentioned in the documentary. Then, BOOM! It was hands-down amazing. I love the lyrics, I love the music video (simple but beautiful–and it was in HD), and I absolutely loooove the instruments. I had the sudden urge to share how I feel, and the beauty that lies within our own music. Filipinos, including myself, have been captivated by foreign music and we’re more open about that than about our very own OPM.

Now what I want to do is to spread this love. But how? I tried to look for English translations of some of the most played OPM rock songs–but to no avail. Google translate isn’t at its best form yet. It’s still an imperfect machine. And that’s when it hit me. I want to highlight OPM by translating the songs from Filipino to English. Even if  this project (which shall be called “OPM Sessions“) is mostly for myself, I still envision other people (Filipinos or not) to appreciate the content, the poetry, and the art of music produced by our kababayan.

When translating songs, I’ll try to retain the meaning without having to be too literal. Translation works are not easy to produce. Also, I’m not the most knowledgeable on Filipino music nor on the OPM scene in general, but I aim to provide just as much passion and dedication for the music I grew up with.

This may be the most significant project I’ve ever come up for this side blog, so I don’t want to stop doing this. More power to OPM!

3 thoughts on “Spreading the love for OPM

Leave a Reply

