My Thoughts on「The Da Vinci Code」 by Dan Brown

This book is part of my 2014 Library. Hurrah!

I remember the time that the movie adaptation of The Da Vinci Code was criticized in my country as it was thought to be a blasphemous work that would challenge the faith of Christians, more specifically the Roman Catholics, and make them doubt their beliefs. Some Christian schools even went as far as banning the book from their libraries, so that their students would not, even in the tiniest chances, stumble upon something so “evil”, as they would say. I did not watch the movie then, nor did read the book that was the hot but sensitive topic even in local television. Yes, I did not really bat an eye to it. Even so, the movie was shown in cinemas and the book was selling like hotcakes in bookshops.

The controversy it created was the cause of its popularity even to this day. And now that I have started to gain interest in reading, I recalled a friend who read it three years ago, when we were still roommates in a certain dormitory near the university. Since I consider myself an open-minded person who is not bound by all customs, I decided to give this book a try. To be honest, I did somehow prepare myself and my Christian faith so that I would not be swayed by anything that is written in this highly controversial book.

The Da Vinci Code was an overall gripping read. Being a mystery novel, I found myself falling in love again with the genre. There were parts that had me raising my eyebrow, and some parts that I just could not disagree with. After reading this book, I had three major realizations.

First, this book is certainly not a blasphemous work. The Facts page at the start is a just a page of a fiction novel, so it has to be taken with a grain of salt. I personally did not believe all of it. That decision made it easier for me to enjoy the novel as it is—as a work of literary fiction—ignoring the possibility that this could have been made with a hidden agenda by the author.

Second, what actually made this book interesting are not the cases, but the beautiful correlation of art and religion, which are the two conflicting themes in the work. However, the scenes at which the correlation was presented were rather unrealistic for the story and for the sense of time in the setting. Thus, the book as a whole became less appealing to me. I would rather read those bits of information somewhere else.

Lastly, I am happy that the book has made an intellectual impact on me, which just adds my certainty, rather than doubt, to my Christian faith. This result was already expected, but it still surprises me that I have been steadfast with my principles, rooted from the faith I have grown up with and grown to love, even after reading the so-called book that challenges one’s faith.

10 thoughts on “My Thoughts on「The Da Vinci Code」 by Dan Brown

  1. I think I was 13 or 14 when I first read the book. I remember it very well because I made the bad decision to read it in the evening. It was literally a page-turner; couldn’t put the book down. I told myself, “I’ll sleep after I read this chapter” but I ended up not sleeping at all. When I finished the novel, the sun was already high up in the sky. I got ill afterwards. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the book immensely. It does challenge the foundation of your Christian beliefs, but just like you said, I don’t think that it’s essentially a blasphemous work. I also enjoyed the film, but I prefer the novel.

    Like

    1. I and my friends watched the movie several days after I finished reading the novel and insisting they watch it with me. The novel itself is info-loaded, so it was natural the film would remove some bits, but overall it just felt lacking. Hahaha. But I still like the movie because it’s all audiovisual, so in turn it helped me appreciate the stuff I read more than if I only settled on the book.

      Thanks for dropping by this blog which I rarely update haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. I was going to reply to comment on one of your other posts, but I saw this Da Vince Code post from your Recommended Posts, so yeah, I ended up clicking on it instead.

        Indeed. The book is huge and they can’t just fit everything in 2 hours or less. But I agree, I enjoyed the film.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ugh. That’s what I meant. Darn this autocorrect on my phone. Every time I clean the junk on my phone’s memory, it ons the autocorrect, as well. What a pain.

        Like

      3. (Can’t relate coz my phone is a feature one hehehehe) *Pats your shoulder

        At least, it’s faster to type on your phone than on a literal keypad with your hand/fingers

        Like

      4. I see. Well, I’m quite the opposite actually. I’m faster on the old-style keypad. Now that everything’s touch screen, I prefer to use the swipe option rather than manually type. That’s why I rely heavily on my phone’s vocabulary list because I don’t actually type every letter. Perhaps that’s why I’m more prone to typos when using my phone and the autocorrect kicks in often. Oh well. Do you use your phone when tweeting or blogging?

        Like

      5. Ah, (actually I’m the same!) I just assumed it’s easier for you to \type\ words with touch screen than on real keypad, because that’s how it is with my friends. And yes! I like using that swipe option, too! It’s faster… as long as autocorrect is in slumber. But I don’t own a smart phone. And I only tried tweeting with a sumaho when I borrowed my niece’s for a while when she came over. I still tweet and blog with PC. Guess this also explains why I’m slow on things.

        Like

      6. I see. Phones have their uses, but I don’t like using it all the time. I’m more comfortable with the computer. Besides, it’s so much faster to type with all 10 fingers than just 1 or 2 fingers on a phone, right?

        Like

Leave a Reply

