Quick Thoughts on The Giver by Lois Lowry

This book is part of my 2014 Library. Hurrah!

Photo from Literary Treats

My friend lent me this book. The setup was one of the most intriguing synopses I’ve ever read. The moment I had the book on my hand, I felt excited that I really wanted to read it right away, but I couldn’t  because I was at school.

So I finally opened this book at home. The beginning was kind of confusing, but engaging at the same time. But it really got more ‘exciting’ the more I read. I mean, even though it is narrated in third person POV, I could quite easily enter into Jonas’ character.

The more things were revealed about their community, the more [I] Jonas felt blinded to what were really going on. And that is why it made my heart race every time a truth was unveiled.

Looking back, this is not really a book I would recommend just for everyone, as it lacks the ‘excitement’ or fast-paced action or events that most people would want to see in a movie. However, the book has played so well in stirring emotions and many thoughts within me. And what it has done to me was a pleasure that I can call my own. It left me awestruck that I couldn’t stop thinking about it for several days.

One thought on “Quick Thoughts on The Giver by Lois Lowry

Leave a Reply

